Feeling Good

Some music  and something yummy to look at 😉 for your  feel good day! (yep, MB this is for you!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Edwsf-8F3sI

I am finally feeling good. Well, minus the little cold that may be coming on…

Mentally though, I have finally found a good place. 

When I came back from the U.S. almost a month ago, I was not a happy camper. I did not want to return to Serbia. I wanted the Munchkin and I to stay in the U.S. and if the hubby wanted to join us, fine. I came back because I love him. and to be honest. I have regretted that more than not. But one can decide to be happy and create a good life for themselves where ever they are!

Sometimes it is really hard to get out of the funk though. especially when you are felling trapped by whatever circumstances you are facing. Enjoying a few of any series, like Game of Thrones, can be the rest your mind needs to over come all that is making life so difficult. Once you are ready to make a change you can!

First, taking control of the situation and deciding to make it good is important. That is what I did and now, I am going to accomplish things like getting in shape and learning Serbian. Those are my resolutions. I don’t have a weight goal, just a goal to lose the baby and post 40 belly.Losing 20 lbs would be great though!

While I was home I got the most excellent gift to get where I want to be physically. T25 is my new love. I really enjoy it even when it is making my wrist sweat and my muscles ache. Exercise is what has changed my mindset most lately. I am filled with more energy after only one week, I am more positive, focused, and I am accomplishing more in the house. Not all that I want, but then I have a toddler at my feet all the time.  

If you have a workout or gym or YouTube video(s) you love, go or do it! It will help you!

Studying Serbian isn’t going well. I wanted to put the munchkin in daycare, but after we discussed it and hubby said yes, then he changed his mind. SO, I am stuck with the majority of that work and little quiet time to study. Seriously, trying to study something akin to Russian with the Cyrillic alphabet is hard to do with some one yelling Come Mommy Bubbles!! Milk! play, color!!! 

But I will press on, and I discovered that watching cartoons in Serbian is really helpful to learning. Thank you Pepa Prase! If you watch them on YouTube, you can watch them more than once and get to understand better and better! Of course the tot doesn’t mind that at all! Win Win! 

There will still be days I just cannot take in the language, I don’t want to hear it or even try to understand, but little by little it won’t be so hard. 

Making it all better is knowing where to find your own food! This has been a significantly difficult process for me. I am doing more research, finding resources and concentrating on more networking! The more you do that, the more you find! even in my very little town!! 🙂

For instance, I have been craving Indian style creamy chai. I have a recipe, but didn’t know where to find the ingredients. After polling Belgrade visitors site on FB and getting some sites to order from I was on my way. Several other expats gave me direction and ideas! I even got lucky later when I looked in my own local stores, once I knew the Serbian names of things I found ginger! Raw and powdered! 

Reaching out to others who can relate and will help because they have been there too is clutch. I learn this over and over. There is help. You just gotta ask and get out there.!

Just remember this kind of thing is usually temporary even when it is a form of culture shock. It suck like PMS, you live through it and you get over it!

You can do it. 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Feeling Good

  1. Oh, my! I remember trying to learn Slovak in Slovakia when I was in the Peace Corps. We had classes in it four hours a day, five days a week, for twelve weeks, and I could survive. After two years, I was still not fluent, but able to handle daily conversations and do all the essential chores. It is not easy to adjust to a new culture. Is there any way you could take lessons, either in a class or individually? YouTube is an excellent idea. I, too, found watching cartoons helped.You have my compassion and understanding.

    • Hi, I wish I had time for classes. I am trying to do some online, but my little one’s intuition wakes her just as I begin to study! I’ll get it done eventually!

  2. This was a really inspiring post! It’s so good to know I’m not alone in this, and that others have felt similarly. I’ll definitely try and take a leaf from your book, and will keep at it 🙂 I look forward to reading more about your progress with Serbian!! Thanks again for your kinds words and advice.

  3. Wow. You are one positive cookie. Kudos for getting down to what you want in life. Keep talking to hubby about childcare – the Munchkin might enjoy some contact with other kids too after the ball she had with her cousins! I think your attitude’s rubbing off on me – I’m off to find out what T25 is now.

    • I was thinking the same thing tonight as I skyped with the family. I can tell she misses them!
      About T25. With a decent diet and hard work, my sis in law has lost 40 lbs! it is really amazing. I can I am building muscle and my balance is better after one week. I have eaten like a pig, so I am not bothering to get on the scale again just yet. 😉

  4. I related to just about everything you said in the post. I have a feeling that you are describing my future. Hang in there everything comes in time. Feel free to give me a call anytime. Ciao,!

Leave a Reply

