What happens when you defend yourself against a burglar in Serbia and the US

Not unlike back home in the US, I have found that defending your home and family is a risky business in Serbia. I just got this link from a friend this morning telling a story about a family in Belgrade who had been burglarized a few weeks earlier and when the burglar came back this past Wednesday, the confrontation between the man of the house and the return “guest” resulted in the death of the intruder. The man, Saska is in jail accused of murder. The laws need to change! He was only protecting  his wife and daughter who were also there at the time.

There is a petition you can fill out for a change in the law included in the article below. If you are interested in helping.

Here is the article I read this morning. http://globalvoicesonline.org/2013/05/25/when-a-burglar-enters-your-home-debating-serbias-self-defense-law/

Saska’s wife is a friend of mine online. I found her when I was looking for help with finding other expats like myself. Even though she didn’t know me from Adam, she helped me find friends close by who I could chat with and who understood my intercultural family.

Please join me in praying for this family as the mother and child are now home without the man of the house to protect them and they must feel very vulnerable. The husband is locked up for being a good man, protecting his family and his home. They don’t know when he will be able to return.

6 thoughts on “What happens when you defend yourself against a burglar in Serbia and the US

    • One of the many things you do correctly in Texas… women’s rights I think I may have qualms with but, then I don’t live there and have only great respect for the state that could be it’s own country!

Leave a Reply

