Whatever Wednesday~ Why Did I Move Here?

Today it is raining and it seems the perfect weather for pondering the questions I am asked most here.

“Why am I here?” is the first question people who meet me ask. The second one is, “Which place is better. U.S. or Serbia”.

The first  of the two questions is easy, I came because this is where my husband and I agreed to come here to live. Now, it is my second home. Like my first home in the U.S. there are things I love and things I do not. But it is home and I love it here. Even when bouts of homesickness hit me like  Stone Mountain powered by a steam train, this is home.

I am blessed to have a really good family on both continents and that makes it all the easier /harder to leave one place for another. But where ever I am, I am always missing one family and happy to be with the other.

As for the second question, that one is more tricky. The U.S. is more advanced, has lots of opportunity and really does have more of everything. It is easier to make a living. But it is not as easy as you would think. People in Serbia  and in other parts of the world think that money just falls into your lap in the U.S. In actuality, work is often much more demanding. I do make more, but I work a lot harder to make it than you would think.

In Serbia, I do not have a job. And there are no prospects for me yet. That is difficult for me to accept. I keep searching. But even teaching English isn’t an option for me right now. On the other hand, it is nice to have a more leisurely life. I can relax and be crafty, something I didn’t have time for in the States. I have all the time in the world for the munchkin. That is something so many Moms would envy.

I must say I am blessed to have this opportunity. I am enjoying it for the most part, and everyone had down days, even in their home countries. As I see it. I have a lot more perks living here right now than not.

I moved here because it was the best option for my family at this time. We are here definitively. But we can always go home. 🙂 We will eventually. Maybe long-term. Nothing is off the table.

Who knows what life will bring. The last 6 years has shocked me to the core. I expect the next 5 years to be another roller coaster ride as out little one grows, learns two languages simultaneously  and we enjoy the beauty the product of our love life brings. Every day brings us new joys and we love her more and more. I don’t even know how that is possible, but it is.

Just one year ago. Munchkin is growing so fast!

 

Dobar Dan

3 thoughts on “Whatever Wednesday~ Why Did I Move Here?

    • Eh, what happened there? 🙂 I have several “homes” – places I feel at home. Here, the Alsace region of France, and my home in Cornwall. I wouldn’t give up on any of them for all the money in the world. Enjoy the time you have at home with the munchkin; it’s precious 🙂

      • I feel the same, and I think it is a huge bonus to have more than one HOME. We can’t help but enjoy her. She is my best little buddy. ❤

Leave a Reply

