Babin Zub 365-43

Grandmother’s tooth known as Babin Zub  is a Ski resort about an hour away. Lots of people from our town work there. They go up for a week and then have a break and go back up again.

One of my friends has taken some gorgeous pics.

This one is my favorite.

Craggy snow-covered cliffs followed by the soft teddy bear looking furs just beyond. In the distance the snaking mountain road that climbs up to the resort is visible in the middle of the snowy  rooftop.

Stara Planina or Old Mountain is a lush gorgeous place to visit in the summer and a wonderland in the winter. This range stretches across Serbia and Bulgaria.  This is part of the Alp-Himalayan chain of mountains that spans most of Europe and Asia.

I have heard that wild horses run free here and most of the largest mammals in Europe can be found here. There are bears, wolves, chamois, boar, and of course deer.

Another top of the Balkan world vista

All sorts of wonderful plants group up there. I read that Edelweiss can be found and I hope to see them in person one day. I love the song named for the beautiful little white flowers. I played it over and over as a child after watching The Sound of Music. Now I sing it as I rock my baby to sleep.

Frosted trees sleeping in the sun

I haven’t been up there this winter. I am not sure if I will make it til next winter. But I love looking at the pics  my friend Lukic takes.

He sent me a link that has tons of info about the mountains and the resort. Click Here if you are interested in seeing more.

Thank you Lukic for letting me use your pics!

Dobar Dan

2 thoughts on “Babin Zub 365-43

Leave a Reply

